Ben Shapiro notes the NYT has one opinion piece on the 9/11 anniversary, and it’s about Islamophobia

Spread the love

We didn’t exactly need a screenshot from the newspaper that originally reported Wednesday morning on the 18 years “since airplanes took aim and brought down the World Trade Center,” but it doesn’t hurt either.

Ben Shapiro checked with the New York Times’ Opinion section Wednesday morning, and in a selection of 10 opinion pieces, only one is about the 9/11 anniversary … and that one is Omer Aziz “mourning the life I lived before I learned that I was different.”

It is pretty incredible that on the 18th anniversary of 9/11, the NYT online op-ed page has precisely one editorial on that historic marker — and it’s about the effects of Islamophobia on American Muslims post-9/11. |944c560b63446a52e4866f6ea9fef14d|

— Ben Shapiro (@benshapiro) September 11, 2019

Incredible, but not unexpected.

— RegulatoryCreep (@DKWhitaker) September 11, 2019

Is it? I'm not terribly surprised to be honest.

— Chris Chiarelli (@chris_chiarelli) September 11, 2019

At least we got, “We Will Never, Ever Be Rid of Donald Trump” from Frank Bruni — that’s pretty fresh. But there are a lot of people who could say 9/11 took a world away from them and they’re mourning lives, too.

Today some people did something

— GeneGeneDancnMachine (@GeneDanceMach) September 11, 2019

Incredible, sure. Surprising, nah bruh.

— Muh Feelings (@Malphorus) September 11, 2019

It's all they have to say. Anything else is not politically correct.

— Michael Tuckness (@MichaelTuckness) September 11, 2019

Dont worry, there is one article about the "annual ritual of mourning." in NYC.

— Mary Reilly (@yogamaryreilly) September 11, 2019

To be fair, the Times does have stories about the anniversary of the terrorist attack … but some more opinion pieces would have been appreciated; social media looks like the place to be to really hear people remember what happened that day and how they still feel today.

What a joke of a newspaper. All the worse that it’s NYC and they do this today.

— Mr. Yan (@TenenbaumRichie) September 11, 2019

Actually.. sadly…it is no longer even surprising what the NYT puts out..more like wondering how far they will go

— Steve Steve (@NWHouston) September 11, 2019

No, it's dismaying. But sadly unsurprising and *entirely* credible.

— Dr. Dollerhide (@Dollerhide) September 11, 2019

Yeah we definitely hear too much about 9/11 from people that were affected by it. Let’s throw up an op-ed from another rich trouser stain who made a career off of the aftermath instead.

— Sam Atkins (@DbtheeBustocles) September 11, 2019

Related:

The NY Times has updated its awful 9/11 article to clarify that airplanes did not aim themselves at the WTC https://t.co/CMMGxv3CFo

— Twitchy Team (@TwitchyTeam) September 11, 2019

The post Ben Shapiro notes the NYT has one opinion piece on the 9/11 anniversary, and it’s about Islamophobia appeared first on twitchy.com.

Read more: twitchy.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *